WMS Masterworks Concert to Feature Surprise and Classical Symphonies on Feb. 7

The Vireo Ensemble Will Also Perform a More Intimate Concert at The Block on Feb. 8

Muskegon, Michigan, December 30, 2013 – The West Michigan Symphony offers an intimate glimpse into the art of surprise and classical symphonies during a Masterworks concert on Friday, Feb. 7.

The concert will be held at the Frauenthal Center for the Performing Arts at 7:30 p.m. and will include performances by the Vireo Ensemble, featuring the Symphony’s Jonathan Holden playing the clarinet, Caroline Holden playing the violin, Carrie Pierce playing the cello and Kelly Karamanov playing the piano. Meijer is the guest artist sponsor.

The Masterworks concert will also include performances by WMS concertmaster Jennifer Walvoord and principal oboe Gabriel Renteria.

Under the music direction of Scott Speck, the WMS will explore:
• Bach’s Concerto for Violin and Oboe
• Haydn’s most famous and rollicking work, the Surprise Symphony
• Peter Schickele’s humorous Quartet for Clarinet, Violin, Cello and Piano, featuring the Vireo Ensemble. Schickele is the genius behind P.D.Q. Bach’s hilarious recordings and performances.
• Prokofiev’s fast-paced Classical Symphony

“I love it when the West Michigan Symphony gets to explore the masterworks on which the whole history of our art is based,” Speck said. “With their great instrumental pieces, Bach and Haydn paved the way for all of Western orchestral music. Without Haydn, there would be no Prokofiev Classical Symphony. And without Bach – well, there would be no P.D.Q. Bach!”

The Vireo Ensemble will also perform at The Block, the Symphony’s new, intimate venue, on Saturday, Feb. 8 at 7:30 p.m. The program selections, which have been given the collective title “Café Music,” are evocative of popular music styles, mostly American, and including jazz, cabaret, ragtime, bebop, and rock and roll.

Works to be included are:
• Schoenfield’s ‘Café Music’
• Muczynski’s Fantasy Trio
• Schickele’s Quartet for Clarinet, Violin, Cello and Piano

Tickets can be purchased by calling the West Michigan Symphony ticket office at 231.726.3231. Several subscriber plans are available including the full series, masterworks series only, pop series only or flexible ticketing that allows concertgoers to create their own experience. For more information, contact 231.726.3231 or info@westmichigansymphony.org.

Single tickets for the Masterworks’ concert range from $17 to 47 and may be purchased online at www.westmichigansymphony.org; by calling 231.726.3231; or in person at 360 W. Western Ave. Student tickets are $5 for this concert but are not available online. College students must present a valid ID when they purchase tickets.

Tickets for The Block performance “Jazzy. Café. Pommes Frites.” start at $20. Doors for the performance will open at 6:30 p.m.

About West Michigan Symphony
As one of the few professional regional orchestras in Michigan, West Michigan Symphony has played a leading role in the region’s cultural community for nearly 75 years. WMS serves a regional audience with eight pairs of concerts annually, along with dozens of educational and outreach activities for children and adults. Earlier this year, the organization also launched The Block, a new and intimate concert venue in downtown Muskegon that will host a wide range of performers. WMS also oversees operations for the West Michigan Youth Symphony and the newly formed WMS Children’s Choir. For more information, visitwww.westmichigansymphony.org.

Michigan Arts & Culture Council
National Endowment for the Arts